Update Sites

Revision as of 08:14, 3 November 2014 by Schindelin (talk | contribs) (How do I delete my personal update site?: clarify)

Template:UpdateSites

Following an update site

Fiji-icon.png
The Fiji distribution of ImageJ ships with both the ImageJ and Fiji sites enabled. You can transform your ImageJ installation into a Fiji one simply by enabling the Fiji update site.


Out of the box, ImageJ has only the core ImageJ update site enabled.

  • To enable additional features, choose Update from the Help menu, then click the "Manage update sites" button.

For further details, see How to follow a 3rd party update site.

Creating your own update site

Anyone can share their extensions (plugins, scripts, etc.) by creating their own update site. You can use ImageJ's personal update site service (hosted on the ImageJ web server), or host it on your own server.

See How to set up and populate an update site for instructions.

Frequently asked questions

How do I make my update site appear in ImageJ's Manage update sites dialog?

The dialog is based on the List of update sites wiki page. You can edit that page to add your own update site.

How do I remove a file from my update site?

An update site is a revision control system where nothing is ever really deleted from the history.

Hence, there are two levels of removal: marking a file obsolete, and deleting a file completely from the history:

  • You can mark any file previously uploaded as obsolete. Just delete it from your local installation, then launch the updater, right click and choose "Mark obsolete." This will not delete old versions of the file, but will ensure anyone updating to the latest version of your update site will no longer download that file.
  • Deleting a file from the history is strongly not recommended, but if you must do so (e.g., for legal or privacy reasons):
    • If you using a personal update site, then contact an ImageJ administrator to have the offending file(s) removed.
    • If you are hosting your own update site, then you must delete all versions of the file from the file system, and edit the db.xml.gz file to remove the <plugin> entry as well as any <dependency> elements in other entries which reference it.

How do I set a password for my personal update site?

Use this page to set a password for uploading content.

If you want to restrict which users can access your update site, please note that the Personal Update Sites service is only intended for freely available plugins. To restrict user access, you will need to host the update site yourself, sharing the URL only with your customers. Implementing an authentication scheme on top of an ImageJ update site is outside the scope of ImageJ—consider using something like OAuth.

How do I delete my personal update site?

If you want to completely remove your update site, contact an ImageJ administrator via the mailing list to have the site removed.

Can I manipulate the files on my update site directly? (E.g., via WebDAV?)

Please don't! Update sites are intended to be accessed only via ImageJ's Updater. There is important metadata in the db.xml.gz file which must be kept in sync with the files in the directory structure. Otherwise, your update site will stop working properly.